Discovering romance through the eyes of the past

I’d like to introduce my first guest blogger, author H.E. Curtis (http://hecurtis.com) .  He has been published in many genres, including poetry, non-fiction articles, fantasy and romance. 

I’ll leave the subject up to him… but I’ll ask one question to start him off:

Are romance authors as wild and crazy as everyone thinks they are?

I think it is different for each author.  For myself, I am pretty mellow and laid back and while I can mingle at a party or get together,  for the most part I am below the radar most of the time, although as my wife will attest, I enjoy unexpectedly surprising her, and some times in a crazy way.

What I want to briefly write about tonight is the wonderful journey of discovering romance through the eyes of the past. 

603472_lowIn the course of my writing, I stumbled across a book written in the Victorian era.  The title of the book is, The Language of Flowers by Margaret Pickston (first published in print in 1968, but handwritten long before).  This small, obscure book of only a few pages was for me, a discovery of how fascinating romance can be.  The essence of the book is every flower has meaning attached to it.  Meanings range from passion, devotion, scorn, fickleness etc.  The florists hit the nail on the head when they said, “Say it with flowers”. 

But flowers are only one aspect to romance, for we have the belief that certain anniversaries are assigned to a select gift.  For instance the 50th is the Golden Anniversary, and obviously gold is the suggested gift.  The point is, all we do in any relationship, regardless of how light and serious, has an undercurrent to it.   It calls us to an awareness on so many levels of intimacy we can never tire of it, or at least I can’t. 

The term, “The game of love,” is very aptly coined.  There is a lot fun in our pursuit of the one we want to spend time with.  Our bodies tell us so as our mood lightens, our pulse rate quickens, we sweat and shake, we lose our concentration etc.  All of these are aspects of the chase, the fun and excitment of pursuit, the surprise turnings and clever tricks to capture and avoid.  We are at the top of the game one moment and then we find ourselves in last place.  All of this expierence, medical and psychological science tells us is healthy. 

Courtship is just as much a game as is sex.  There are nuances subtle and more apparent which we pick up on, and we respond and improve our game, so to speak and there is also an under current, while we may not be aware of it, nevertheless influences the steps we take.  The most seeming attempt at what we may see as the perfect moment suddenly turns to disaster, and the other side of the coin what we think is a total flop turns out to be the best thing of all.  Yet, many hunger for romance and the courtship.   It can be a very fascinating task to discover the undercurrents of doing the things we do.  We don’t necessarily have to agree with it, but it makes us think and allows us the opportunity to add another flower or two in this magical, wildly enchanting garden of fun and romance.

3 comments on “Discovering romance through the eyes of the past

  1. I just love the little hidden meanings behind flowers and the hidden symbolism behing many other things. In a recent contest I was in, I discovered that a coil of snakes symbolized eternity and everlasting love in the victorian area. Who would have thought! My mother was very into the symoblisim behind Christmas ornament, specifically the Christmas Pickle.

    I have to wonder how many of these little nuances are being forgotten in a more materialistic world.

  2. I actually have a whole line of wearable art jewelry based on the language of flowers. I draw each flower out and come up with a little story or thought or saying behind each of the flowers meanings…

    http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5917107

    It’s fun to think about really. The Victorians popularized the tradition and used flowers to send ‘secret’ messages. There were flowers that meant yes and flowers that meant no so responses could be given.

    Flowers crop up a lot in romance novels too, which I love, because I can draw inspiration from them to make my pieces. Morning Glory (by LaVyrle Spencer) means devotion for instance. Edward Cullens from Twilight gives Bella Swan freesias because she sorta smells like them. Freesias mean innocence and trust… which fit both of them.

Leave a Reply

